West Indies, USA will co-host T20 World Cup in 2024

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced that the West Indies and the USA will co-host the Men’s T20 World Cup in June 2024.

The West Indies last hosted the tournament in 2010, while the USA will be hosting its first-ever global cricket tournament.

The ICC confirmed the host nations for every major ICC mens’ limited-overs event between 2024 and 2031 on Tuesday.

A total of eight new tournaments were announced, with 14 different host nations confirmed.

In addition, the Champions Trophy, which was abandoned in 2017, is set to return and will be staged in Pakistan in February 2025.

This will be the first major global cricket tournament in Pakistan since 1996 when the country co-hosted the Cricket World Cup with India and Sri Lanka.

Namibia is also set to host a major cricket tournament for the first time in its history.

The African nation will co-host the Men’s Cricket World Cup with Zimbabwe and South Africa in October/November 2027.

South Africa and Zimbabwe last staged the event in 2003.

Here are the details of the ICC’s announcement:

T20 World Cup

2024: U.S. and West Indies

2026: India and Sri Lanka

2028: Australia and New Zealand

2030: England, Ireland, and Scotland

ODI World Cup

2027: South Africa, Zimbabwe, and Namibia

2031: India and Bangladesh

Champions Trophy

2025: Pakistan

2029: India

Photo: West Indies players celebrate after defeating Bangladesh by three runs in their Cricket Twenty20 World Cup match in Sharjah, UAE, Friday, Oct. 29, 2021. (AP Photo/Kamran Jebreili)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.